Oklahoma Penalties: Sales and Use Tax Violations
- Sales Tax News
- Sep 19, 2012 | Gail Cole
Sales and Use Tax Violators in Oklahoma beware: filing late, failure to file, and fraudulent filing carries stiff penalties.
On August 31, 2012, the Oklahoma Tax Commission released the 2012 Notice to Vendors of Penalties for Violating the Oklahoma Sales Tax Code.
The notice spans four pages and provides a comprehensive list of violations and penalties. Penalties range from fees of 10% of the total tax due to fines of up to $50,000 and imprisonment. In short, it is well worth paying Oklahoma Sales Tax in a complete and timely manner.
The table below provides several examples of violations and penalties in Oklahoma. It is not a comprehensive list.
|Fail to timely file a return within 15 days after the tax is due.||10% of the total tax due.||68 OS Section 217|
|Provide false or fraudulent reports or returns.||A fine of not less than $1,000 and up to $50,000 or by imprisonment for not less than 2 years and up to 5 years, or both.||68 OS Section 241|
|Conduct business or activities without a sales tax permit.||Penalty in the amount of $5,000 or imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year; enjoined from further operation.||68 OS Section 238|
|Claim an exemption for which you are not eligible.||Purchaser is held personally liable for any tax, penalty, and interest resulting from purchaser claiming the exemption.||OAC 710:65-7-21|