Avalara Taxrates > Blog > Sales Tax News > Texas: Time to Tax Fireworks Again - Avalara

Texas: Time to Tax Fireworks Again

  • Jul 2, 2014 | Gail Cole

 Texas fireworks = Texas fireworks tax.

It’s legal to purchase fireworks in Texas three times each year. Retail sales of fireworks are subject to a special 2% fireworks tax in addition to all applicable state and local sales and use taxes. The fireworks tax helps fund rural fire departments.

Fireworks may be purchased in Texas for:

  • Cinco de Mayo festivities (May 1-5 at locations not more than 100 miles from Texas-Mexico border);
  • The 4th of July (June 24-July 4); and
  • The New Year (December 20-January 1).

The fireworks tax is due to the Texas Comptroller twice each year, on February 20 and August 20. There is a late filing penalty of $50.

Sales tax permits are required to sell fireworks. Texas Comptroller website.

Do you make occasional sales in Texas or other states? Be sure you’re on top of sales tax. Learn more.

photo credit: raghavvidya via photopin cc

Sales tax rates, rules, and regulations change frequently. Although we hope you'll find this information helpful, this blog is for informational purposes only and does not provide legal or tax advice.
Gail Cole
Avalara Author
Gail Cole
Gail Cole
Avalara Author Gail Cole
Gail began researching and writing about sales tax in 2012 and has been fascinated with it ever since. She has a penchant for uncovering unusual tax facts, and endeavors to make complex sales tax laws more digestible for both experts and laypeople.