Texas: Time to Tax Fireworks Again
- Sales Tax News
- Jul 2, 2014 | Gail Cole
It’s legal to purchase fireworks in Texas three times each year. Retail sales of fireworks are subject to a special 2% fireworks tax in addition to all applicable state and local sales and use taxes. The fireworks tax helps fund rural fire departments.
Fireworks may be purchased in Texas for:
- Cinco de Mayo festivities (May 1-5 at locations not more than 100 miles from Texas-Mexico border);
- The 4th of July (June 24-July 4); and
- The New Year (December 20-January 1).
The fireworks tax is due to the Texas Comptroller twice each year, on February 20 and August 20. There is a late filing penalty of $50.
Sales tax permits are required to sell fireworks. Texas Comptroller website.
Do you make occasional sales in Texas or other states? Be sure you’re on top of sales tax. Learn more.