Avalara Taxrates > Blog > Sales Tax News > Arkansas Sales Tax Holiday Starts August 1 - Avalara

Arkansas Sales Tax Holiday Starts August 1


 Lunchboxes are exempt from Arkansas sales tax, August 1-2

Arkansas has offered an annual sales tax holiday since 2011. In 2015, it takes place August 1-2.

During that time, the following items are exempt from state and local sales tax:

  • Clothing “suitable for general use” with a sales price of less than $100 per item
  • Clothing accessories or equipment with a sales price of less than $50 per item
  • School supplies
  • School art supplies
  • School instructional materials

The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration provides examples of eligible and noneligible items. For example, eligible clothing includes aprons, bathing suits, overshoes and rubber pants but does not include belt buckles or “sport or recreational equipment designed for human use and worn in conjunction with an athletic or recreational activity.” To see the complete list, as well as administrative procedures, please click here.

Sales tax holidays are popular among consumers but create extra work for retailers. To facilitate transaction tax management during tax-free periods and year-round, implement automated sales tax Software-as-a-Service. Learn more.

Photo credit


Sales tax rates, rules, and regulations change frequently. Although we hope you'll find this information helpful, this blog is for informational purposes only and does not provide legal or tax advice.
Gail Cole
Avalara Author
Gail Cole
Gail Cole
Avalara Author Gail Cole
Gail began researching and writing about sales tax in 2012 and has been fascinated with it ever since. She has a penchant for uncovering unusual tax facts, and endeavors to make complex sales tax laws more digestible for both experts and laypeople.