Avalara Taxrates > Blog > Sales Tax News > Texas Annexations/Disannexations, October 2015 - Avalara

Texas Annexations/Disannexations, October 2015

 Get local sales tax rates right.

Cities grow and cities shrink and eventually, cities adjust their boundaries accordingly. Effective October 1, 2015, numerous cities in Texas are either annexing or disannexing neighboring areas.

The following cities have upcoming boundary changes:

  • Abernathy
  • Angleton
  • Anna
  • Austin
  • Bee Cave
  • Bryan
  • Canadian
  • Celina
  • College Station
  • Corpus Christi
  • Easton
  • Ennis
  • Fulshear
  • Hallettsville
  • Hempstead
  • Houston
  • Kerrville
  • Lakeside
  • Lakeway
  • Leander
  • Little Elm
  • Lufkin
  • Marble Falls
  • McAllen
  • McKinney
  • Midland
  • Needville
  • New Waverly
  • Northlake
  • Prosper
  • Rock Round
  • San Angelo
  • Scottsville
  • Waller

The following special purpose districts also have upcoming boundary changes:

  • Fort Bend County Assistance District 2
  • Fort Bend County Assistance District 6

Businesses that make sales in or near any of the above are advised to contact the cities directly for additional information. Contact information and annexation/disannexation ordinance numbers are available here.

Find accurate local sales and use tax information for all states.

photo credit: TSLAC Represents Texas at the National Book Festival (Washington DC) 9.21.13 via photopin (license)

Gail Cole
Avalara Author
Gail Cole
Gail Cole
Avalara Author Gail Cole
Gail began researching and writing about sales tax in 2012 and has been fascinated with it ever since. She has a penchant for uncovering unusual tax facts, and endeavors to make complex sales tax laws more digestible for both experts and laypeople.