Hear Ye! Newspapers Exempt from Texas Sales Tax
- Sales Tax News
- Nov 2, 2015 | Gail Cole
Hear ye! Hear ye! Printed newspapers with an average sales price of $3.00 or less over a 30-day period are exempt from sales tax in Texas, effective October 12, 2015. The exemption applies to newspapers sold or distributed individually or by subscription.
Texas law defines the average sales price per copy as the newspaper’s masthead price, unless the taxpayer can provide to the comptroller evidence that adequately demonstrates the actual average sales price. The newspapers may be printed and distributed on a daily or weekly basis, or another short interval of 4 weeks or less.
The term newspaper includes:
- Publications “containing articles and essays of general interest by various writers and advertisements produced for the operator of a licensed and certified carrier of persons and distributed by the operator to its customers during their travel on the carrier.” (Think airline magazines.)
- Publications “for the dissemination of news of a general character and of a general interest that is printed on newsprint and distributed to the general public free of charge.”
The term newspaper does not include:
- Sales catalogs
The above are not exempt unless they are "distributed as a part of a newspaper and the items, after being printed, are delivered by the printer to the person responsible for the distribution of the newspaper.”