Avalara Taxrates > Blog > Sales Tax News > Texas Cities Expand in 2016 - Avalara

Texas Cities Expand in 2016

  • Dec 11, 2015 | Gail Cole

 San Antonio to grow via annexation in 2016.

On January 1, 2016, more than 40 cities in Texas will be a bit bigger than they are today. The growth is due to annexations — not too much time at holiday buffet tables. A handful of cities (and one special purpose district) will shrink in the New Year.

The expansion and contraction of tax jurisdictions can impact sales and use tax and mixed beverage tax in the annexed or disannexed areas. 


  • Abernathy
  • Annetta North
  • Athens
  • Aubrey
  • Baytown
  • Boerne
  • Bridgeport
  • Bulverde
  • Castroville
  • Celina
  • Copperas Cove
  • Daingerfield
  • Del Rio
  • El Campo
  • Fairview
  • George West
  • Hallettsville
  • Haslet
  • Howardwick
  • Katy
  • Lakeport
  • Lakeside
  • Lubbock
  • McAllen
  • McKinney
  • Melissa
  • Midland
  • Needville
  • Niederwald
  • Nolanville
  • Oak Ridge North
  • Orange
  • Pilot Point
  • Raymondville
  • San Antonio
  • San Marcos
  • Seguin
  • Sonora
  • Tioga
  • Tyler
  • Victoria
  • Weatherford


  • Aliana Management District (a special purpose district)
  • Athens
  • Cleburne
  • Little Elm

Additional information, including ordinance numbers and phone numbers for each of the affected areas, is available through the Texas Comptroller.

Sales tax rates, rules, and regulations change frequently. Although we hope you'll find this information helpful, this blog is for informational purposes only and does not provide legal or tax advice.
Gail Cole
Avalara Author
Gail Cole
Gail Cole
Avalara Author Gail Cole
Gail began researching and writing about sales tax in 2012 and has been fascinated with it ever since. She has a penchant for uncovering unusual tax facts, and endeavors to make complex sales tax laws more digestible for both experts and laypeople.