Colorado sales tax licenses expire December 31, 2017
- Sales Tax News
- December 4, 2017 | Gail Cole
All Colorado sales tax licenses will expire at the end of the year, on Dec. 31, 2017 — even those recently obtained. New and renewed sales tax licenses in Colorado are valid for a two-year period starting Jan. 1, 2018. They’ll expire Dec. 31, 2019.
A separate license is required for each physical location, so a retailer with five shops would need five separate licenses. There is a charge of $16 to renew each existing license.
The Colorado Department of Revenue has been accepting online sales tax license renewals since November. Businesses that would rather renew their licenses the old-fashioned way can fill out the paper form DR 0594 and mail it in along with a check or money order.
It’s important to renew licenses before the start of the new year: “Anyone who sells at retail in Colorado without obtaining a sales tax license commits a class 3 misdemeanor and may also be subject to a civil penalty of $50 per day to a maximum penalty of $1,000.”
Additional information about sales tax licenses is available from the Colorado Department of Revenue. To simplify sales and use tax compliance in Colorado and other states, consider tax automation software. Learn more.