VATLive > Blog > United States > US 2020 sales tax changes foreign sellers and marketplaces

US 2020 sales tax changes foreign sellers & marketplaces

  • Jan 1, 2020 | Richard Asquith

Following the 2018 South Dakota vs Wayfair ruling at the US Supreme Court, most of the 45 US states which impose sales tax have updated their rules to bring in out-of-state (non-resident or foreign) sellers into the tax net.  This can be by:

  • imposing an obligation on the foreign seller to sales tax register once over a set threshold; and/or 
  • by imposing an obligation on facilitating marketplaces to collect on behalf of foreign sellers any sales tax due

Major state-level changes to this from 1 January 2020 include:

  • Hawaii and Pennsylvania will impose the Wayfair-rule on out-of-state sellers and sales tax collections.
  • Arizona and Georgia, which already have out-of-state taxing rules, will lower their sales tax registration thresholds to $150,000 and $100,000 respectively.
  • Hawaii, Illinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin will start requiring marketplaces to collect sales taxes on sales made by third-party sellers on their platforms.

No payments for 90 days on US sales tax automation

Many businesses are facing financial uncertainty, whilst online sales are a strong growth area. In response, we are giving an extra three months (15 for the price of 12) to AvaTax customers from now until September 30, 2020

Latest American news

VP Global Indirect Tax
Richard Asquith
VP Global Indirect Tax Richard Asquith
Richard Asquith is VP Global Indirect Tax at Avalara, helping businesses understand their compliance obligations as they grow globally. He can be contacted at: He is part of the European leadership team which won International Tax Review's 2019 Tax Technology Firm of the Year. Richard qualified as an accountant with KPMG in the UK, and went on to work in Hungary, Russia and France with EY.
VATlive newsletter

Sign up for our free newsletter stay up-to-date with the latest tax news.

VAT Voice

Sign-up to VAT Voice, Avalara’s monthly round-up about VAT and legislation updates to help you stay ahead of the curve.